Thing 5: Social Bookmarking & Curation Tools

Pinterest
I had heard about Pinterest and I thought it would be fun, but would I have the time to keep up with another social networking site?  I avoided Pinterest for the longest time, but when I saw it was an option, I decided to check it out for this course.
I’m a very visual person and I love to make things, (quilts, pillows, jewelry, pins, etc.).  Many people told me I’d love it, so I knew it was time to jump in feet first.  I’m finally on Pinterest and I’m really enjoying it!  I’m not so fond that you need to be invited or that you have to request an invitation and you go on the “waiting list”.  Does that make it more desirable or exclusive?  Friends had invited me, but I deleted their requests, trying to ignore Pinterest’s siren song.  Without Polly’s invite, I might still be waiting for my Pinterest account, (thank you Polly!).
Personally speaking, I’ve enjoyed being connected to other people and seeing what they’re pinning.  Once you start pinning, its hard to stop!  The addictive Pinterest parade of eye candy is hard to disengage from.  Here is a link to a cartoon that I think many Pinterest users can relate to: http://pinterest.com/pin/164944405072028510/
Straddling the personal and professional fence, I made a category called “librarian chic”.  If you do a search using these keywords, you’ll find all kinds of library-related fashion/things.  I mainly pinned photos of cute flats and cardigans.  There are some interesting things in there, like a necklace that’s basically a necklace with a small pair of librarian-esque 50’s style glasses on it.  http://pinterest.com/pin/174373816792327904/
And a pair of high heels of which the back view of the heel resembles the spine of a classic book.  http://pinterest.com/pin/174373816792327851/  Oh what fun!
If I connect with other librarians and teachers, I might be able to share with them, (and they could share with me), things like book ideas, technology tools, book display ideas and project ideas, (if they have boards for these things).  As for students, there are some ways you could have them use Pinterest that would be pretty interesting.  Students could select random and diverse images and then they’d have to tell a short story based on those images.  Or, they could tell a story using images.  You’d have to do some thinking to set up the rubric so that the photos selected work well.  They could keep track of books they’ve read and books they’d like to read.  You could have students connect to classes at other schools.   They could follow other students in other schools to keep up with what they’re pinning, (perhaps photos that lead to websites that would help with the project the classes have in common).
As with all these tools, there are so many exciting possibilities and ways to increase student’s interest, curiosity and engagement!
Paper.li
I thought paper.li might be a good option for me, as I’m not a news hound, although I do want to keep myself updated.  When I set up my account I decided to only connect to the group #tlchat, as not to have my page overrun with articles/infographics/photos that I felt as though I couldn’t keep up with.  I checked most of the interests that paper.li provided.  I think this will be a great way to keep up with news and articles on topics I’m interested in.  I really like how the categories are listed at the top.  If you want to check out the health section, one click and you’re there.  Once I find interesting articles, I click on my bookmarklet and Readability has saved them for me to read later.  : )  Sorry, that’s jumping ahead to Thing 6.
Because paper.li can be connected to facebook, Google + and twitter, (as Polly said-you need a facebook or twitter account to be able to use it), there are a lot of possibilities here for personal use.  You could also use paper.li while being connected to facebook, Google + and twitter, if they’re not blocked at your school, (Google + is the only one not blocked at mine).  Students could follow a certain group on twitter and be able to use paper.li to follow particular hash tags and other topics.  The same goes for facebook, which means you can access content in this one area, (depending on how many different groups you’ve chosen to follow in the paper.li settings.  To my delight, I found two great articles on paper.li, (with more to come, no doubt).  The first I plan to share with teachers.  Its a quick guide to using Pinterest and an idea for use with students: http://edudemic.com/2012/03/the-teachers-quick-guide-to-pinterest/
Here is a another article I plan to share with my librarian friends on facebook: http://edudemic.com/2012/03/20-ways-libraries-are-using-pinterest-right-now/  I have to say-I didn’t look at this article before I came up with my own Pinterest ideas for students-I noticed that I came up with a few in common.
Upward and onward to Thing 6!
Leave a Reply

